Senate Democrats Announce 2008 Legislative Calendar

Washington, DC—The Senate Democratic Leadership today released the legislative calendar for 2008. Below is a list of the important dates:

Legislative Calendar:

·

Tentative start of legislative session: Tuesday, January 15

·

State of the Union: Tuesday, January 22

·

Presidents Day Work Period: Saturday, February 16 to Sunday, February 24

·

Easter Work Period: Saturday, March 15 to Sunday, March 30

·

Memorial Day Work Period: Saturday, May 24 to Sunday, June 1

·

Independence Day Work Period: Saturday, June 28 to Sunday, July 6

·

Summer Work Period: Saturday, August 9 to Sunday, September 7

o

Democratic National Convention: Monday, August 25 to Thursday, August 28

o

Republican National Convention: Monday, September 1 to Thursday, September 4

           Holidays and Observances:

·

New Year’s Day: Tuesday, January 1

·

Martin Luther King Day: Monday, January 21

·

Presidents Day: Monday, February 18

·

Easter Sunday: Sunday, March 23

·

Memorial Day: Monday, May 26

·

Independence Day: Friday, July 4

·

Labor Day: Monday, September 1

·

Rosh Hashana: sundown Monday, September 29 to sundown Wednesday, October 1

·

Yom Kippur: sundown Wednesday, October 8 to sundown Thursday, October 9

·

Columbus Day: Monday, October 13

·

Veterans Day: Tuesday, November 11

·

Thanksgiving Day: Thursday, November 27

·

Christmas Day: Thursday, December 25